Still a Cliché

So, once again I am a cliché. I’m sitting in Starbucks writing. No, not a screenplay, much to the chagrin of my script-writing partner, but she’ll recover, I’m sure.

No…I am writing fanfic. I cannot break myself away from the stuff. I primarily write Stargate SG-1 fanfic (of the hetero nature) and just love it. I have a long-running series that seems to be quite popular, which is somewhat gratifying. It’s quite nice, actually. When I’m having a down day and need a little pick-me-up, I take an hour or two, write 3,000 or so words, and post a new chapter of the long-running story.

Sometimes I’ll write a short piece. But in the end, the result is the same.

I post. People write back and tell me they love it (and, by extension, me).

What a cool thing.

Instant warm-fuzzies when you need them!

Now, really, I do it to tell a story, but secretly, a part of me posts just ’cause I get that nifty feedback thing going on. Can’t beat that.

Some have emailed and asked how the doctoral program is coming, since I started this blog primarily to document that process. Well, almost everyone has taken and passed their “comprehensive exams,” or as we liked to call them, “two weekends from hell.”

A few more are making up work and/or retaking, but I am certain we’ll all get through.

Four of our 21 have passed their proposal hearing and have officially “advanced to candidacy,” which means they can go ahead and begin researching. My proposal hearing was originally scheduled for 5/26, but as many of you know that was the day we lost Richie. Then I was moved to the 14th of June…Flag Day. While that would have been awesome, Richie’s passing put me further behind, so now we’re at June 23rd at 10:30 pm.

Last semester was not difficult from a class perspective, but was killer from a professorial standpoint. No more 21-unit teaching loads for me until I am finished with this dissertation. No way.

On the plus side, we got to see one of our group’s husband (who’s in the K-12 cohort ahead of us) graduate and boy did he look SPIFFY in his new robes! Awe. Some.

Cannot wait.

Truthfully, I’m only taking the doctoral program for the floppy hat. That’s what it’s all about, I’m sure.

Okay, time for me to get back to these darned research questions. What exactly is it that I wanted to know? Huh…no idea!

Tonight: Canucks are gonna kick ass on the Bruins in Game 2 of the Stanley Cup playoffs! Oh yeah, baby.

2 Comments on “Still a Cliché”

  1. Tammy says:

    You’d better not be writing a script without me! 🙂 Just think, when we get something produced, there will be even more satisfaction…

    And here I thought you were in the doctoral program to get that spiffy title added to your name…. 🙂

  2. DJ says:

    I didn’t get the floppy hat. We had plain ol’ mortar boards. Oh well. We did get cowels, tho. I still have that somewhere, but not the robe.

    Speaking of hockey, Vancouver BC (and by extension my neck ‘o the woods) is all abuzz about getting a team.

    Smooch! DJ