Protesting at Funerals? How *Sad* are You People?!

You know, you’d think, wouldn’t you, that members of a church would understand the concept of the right to celebrate the life of a loved one lost. Of humanity. Of Love. Of understanding.

Or not.

What, I wonder, do those people get from hurting the families of those who have died? Are they that small, that tiny in mind that they can’t think beyond the miniscule bit of brain they have to consider the pain of someone else?

We won’t even get into the fact that they (Fred Phelps’s Westboro Baptist Church) are claiming that their “right” to protest A) is legal; and B) is because the person’s funeral they are mocking and minimizing was gay. A) Who died to give you that “right?” and B) No. He wasn’t.

Um…no. But wait. Truth has no place in these peoples’ manifesto.

I wonder, too. Where do they learn this hate? And how is this hate in any way “Godly?” Is this the kind of thing Fred Phelp’s Westboro Baptist Church’s (WBC) God preaches?

If so, I’m staying the hell away. (Yes, I meant to write that.)

I forget, and perhaps I’m just rusty. Where in the Bible is “hate the crap out of hurting people in my name?” I think I skipped that chapter. John? James? Kings 1? 2? Mindless Lemmings 3? Yeah, that must be it.

I’m not as much a church-goer as I was in the past. That’s my issue, not yours. But I do remember this (In case you can’t figure it out, the bits in (red) are my commentary):

Ecclesiastes 3

A Time for Everything (Except comforting…)

1 There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under heaven: (apparently that means offensive protests)

2 a time to be born and a time to die, (and WBC gets to decide who dies in a Godly manner)
a time to plant and a time to uproot,

3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build, (pretty sure WBC has that whole “tear down” thing covered)

4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, (Oh, I see. We weep, you laugh. Well, that’s certainly Christian of you.)
a time to mourn and a time to dance, (A time to mourn for some. Not the parents/family/friends/partners/wives of those who died. Thank you, WBC for clearing that up for me.)

5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, (I guess your version reads, “A time to throw stones”)
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,

6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,

7 a time to tear and a time to mend, (Again, that whole “tearing” thing is handled.)
a time to be silent and a time to speak, (Oh. WBC? Methinks you forgot this part of the Bible)

8 a time to love and a time to hate, (Wow, the WBC has this one cold. At least the “hate” part.)
a time for war and a time for peace. (Is it even worth commenting here?)

9 What does the worker gain from his toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on men. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. (Note that it doesn’t say, “He has made some things beautiful…”) He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. 12 I know that there is nothing better for men than to be happy and do good while they live. (Missed that bit, did you? Thought so.) 13 That everyone may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all his toil—this is the gift of God. 14 I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that men will revere him. (Now I’m wondering if anyone at Fred Phelp’s Haven for Stupidity and Narrowmindedness have even read the Bible. Still not seeing the bit about “Oh, and do your job and God will hate you.” Maybe I’m reading too fast. I’ll slow down. And use little words so the WBC can follow along.)

15 Whatever is has already been,
and what will be has been before;
and God will call the past to account. [a] (Uh, oh, WBC. I’d look out if I were you. This is where your stupidity comes to bite you in the ass.)

16 And I saw something else under the sun:
In the place of judgment—wickedness was there, (Oh, Westboro Baptist Church, you are so screwed now.)
in the place of justice—wickedness was there. (Yup, screwed here too. Especially if the “Justice System” declares that your stupidity and pain-fostering can continue)

17 I thought in my heart,
“God will bring to judgment
both the righteous and the wicked,
for there will be a time for every activity,
a time for every deed.”

18 I also thought, “As for men, God tests them so that they may see that they are like the animals. (Some much moreso than others.) 19 Man’s fate is like that of the animals; the same fate awaits them both: As one dies, so dies the other. All have the same breath [b] ; man has no advantage over the animal. Everything is meaningless. 20 All go to the same place; all come from dust, and to dust all return. 21 Who knows if the spirit of man rises upward and if the spirit of the animal [c] goes down into the earth?” (In this case I am sincerely hoping that Fred Phelps and all of his mindless simpering followers go the way of the “spirit of the animal” in this little analogy.)

22 So I saw that there is nothing better for a man than to enjoy his work, because that is his lot. For who can bring him to see what will happen after him?

I am thinking that the Westboro Baptist Church are led by and populated by the epitome of evil. Don’t agree? Let’s look it up, shall we? One definition of “evil” is intentionally causing harm or destruction, or deliberately violating some moral code.

Signs at a funeral saying “God Loves Dead Soldiers.” Harmful? Check. Destructive? Check

Mocking someone’s pain and preventing them from mourning. Violating the sanctity of a funeral for a dead son or daughter. Violating some moral code? HUGE check.

Sure enough. In in my dictionary, right next to the word “evil,” I have unglued the picture of George Bush (II) and pasted instead the logo of the Westboro Baptist Church.

Folks, I am fairly certain, with my limited biblical background, that God or G-d in any form doesn’t “hate” anyone. Just as I am reasonably certain that God, G-d, or whomever, thinks the members of the Westboro Baptist Chuch are a pack of idiots, and that if s/he were to intensely dislike anyone, that group of lemmings would top the list.

With deepest apologies to lemmings everywhere.

4 Comments on “Protesting at Funerals? How *Sad* are You People?!”

  1. Cags says:

    Those poor, poor lemmings. They’re going to need a good bath after being used in analogous terms with that vile organisation.

    Seriously, I saw a documentary on this church once (Louis Theroux, who is well renowned in the UK for his muted-yet-obvious satirising of the ridiculous, of which this “church” is but a fine example). I was pretty appalled. Is that even legal? Seriously?
    I’m a huge fan of freedom of speech and all that but I’d say to WPC “sure, go ahead an exercise your right to protest. So long as you don’t mind when I exercise my right to pest control and beat ten tons of crap out of you, you wanker.”

    But you know? Mostly I feel sorry for the youngsters involved. Imagine being brought up with that as a doctrine? Imagine entering the real world and being hated and reviled because some arsehole taught you to hate and bought you up in fear. Some of the stuff those kids were saying in that documentary… honestly, the parents would be being investigated for abuse in the UK; there is such a thing and mental abuse and you could see from their body language that their self esteem was rock rock bottom. Kids aren’t born like that – they’re made like that by the people who are responsible for bringing them up. You constantly put a child down, tell them they are bad/evil/worthless and they start believing it. You praise and show them attention for hating thee world and they’ll think that’s normal. This is how that scum-waste-of-DNA manages to get anyone to follow him – he subjugates and undermines people until all they have left is their hate and his approval.
    Why would any responsible loving human being want to bring their children up to be hated and reviled? It sickens me.
    In the UK, sending your kid out to someone’s funeral waving a banner saying “god hates fags” would a: get your child taken away by social services and b: have you charged with inciting hate crime. And c, probably earn you a good kicking later on down a back alley which, conveniently, the CCTV cameras failed to capture.

    Yeah. And I’ll happily pop my Doc Martens on and join in.

    And to cheer you up – well sort of – the best form of defence is offence. Some of these gave me a good giggle: http://www.buzzfeed.com/mjs538/the-3o-best-anti-westboro-baptist-church-protest-s

  2. Tammy says:

    I repeat this ad nauseam regarding terrorists but, appallingly, the same seems to apply here.

    We (the collective, worldwide WE) were not put on this Earth to be a judge, jury or executioner.

    Those ‘church’ goers are small-minded, bigoted individuals and it’s too bad they’re permitted to breed and spread their hate.

  3. DJ says:

    It’s my understanding that most (if not all) of the folks that attend this kirk are from the same gene pool. The attorney who argued the case to the SCOTUS is one of the “Reverend” Phelps’ daughters. I’ve read the transcript, but you really can’t get the gist of the argument from a dry transcript. I’m looking forward to the SCOTUS posting the podcast. They now post their podcasts once a week (starting this term).

    Now, back to topic. I’m convinced the WBC is a few books short of a bible, including Ephesians which Pol has already demonstrated quite handily, but apparently they’re missing quite a few more:

    “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” Romans 3:23. I guess they’re missing Romans.

    “Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13. Looks like they’re also missing John.

    “Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.” Mark 12:31; Matthew 22:39; Luke 10:27; Romans 3:8; Galations 5:14; James 2:8; Leviticus 19:18. Apparently they’re also missing Mark, Matthew, Luke, Galations, James, and Leviticus.

    Hmm, that covers the *entire* gospel. I guess that makes sense.

    . . . thinking, thinking . . .

    WAIT! Leviticus? WTF?

  4. Shannon says:

    I cringe so hard when I see people like this in the media (believe it or not, such extremists are not as rare as many of those from the south wish they were – when I was in college we had True Holiness come once a semester, stand in our quad, and call those of us that wore pants and short hair “whores” – I wasn’t really offended by them hollering, but more by their children that could look so hatefully at another human being while wearing a sandwich board).

    It demeans the South (full of good people who have some of the best hospitality and food, who are smart no matter what people think of their accent, and who can make a great summer day so nice with a glass of sweet tea). It demeans Christians (like me who hold politically incorrect views – that I’ve shared before – but who don’t do so out of hatred, but are well thought out and nuanced). It demeans soldiers (who are willing to sacrifice for the rest of us).

    *sigh*