Long Time, No Blog…but Better Now

Yes, late again to the party. But, you know. :::shrug::: I’ll warn you, this blog has some political overtones, and religion is mentioned. Oh, get over it.

I was listening to NPR on the way home yesterday and heard Sen. Lindsey Graham (R. – SC) ask Supreme Court nominee Elena Kagen where she was on Christmas Day. Kagen’s response was brilliant, “You know, like all good Jews, I was likely out at a Chinese restaurant.”

Her response got me thinking. I am frequently the recipient of those . . . annoying . . . “Obama’s not a US citizen” or “Obama’s a Muslim” emails. You know the ones I mean, I’m sure. I’m certain that the five of you who regularly read this blog have, at one time or another, had one of these sterling examples of our First Amendment land, uninvited, into your email inbox.

Ignorance plainly and simply annoys me. Before I begin my mini diatribe, let me make a few things chrystal clear. Barack Obama is a US citizen, all other notions are just plain idiotic. As to whether he is a Muslim (though I think the correct term is “Islamic”), really . . . who the heck cares? I do not believe he is, based upon what he’s said and his biography, but again . . . who cares?

I do not remember any article, amendment, or clause in the US Constitution that bans non-Christians from the Presidency.


Now, interestingly enough, the above chart does not count Obama in its numbers. I guess 18 months is too soon to be sure, eh? But, I digress. Hey, just for grins, let’s look at the US Supreme Court:


All charts above from: http://www.adherents.com/adh_sc.html.

Huh. One “undeclared.” Now that’s suspicious.

Okay, back to the President. This data comes from: http://www.presidentsusa.net/qualifications.html (or your high school civics class, but who am I to comment).

Age and Citizenship requirements – US Constitution, Article II, Section 1

No person except a natural born citizen, or a citizen of the United States, at the time of the adoption of this Constitution, shall be eligible to the office of President; neither shall any person be eligible to that office who shall not have attained to the age of thirty-five years, and been fourteen years a resident within the United States. (Constitution of the United States)

Let’s check this off, shall we:

  • Natural born citizen – Check
  • Older than 35 – Check
  • Been a resident of the US for a minimum of 14 years – Check.

Checking again . . . nope. Nothing about religion. And most certainly nothing in it about Christianity being the primary religion of the United States. In fact, if I remember correctly, this whole country was founded on the principle of freedom of religion. Not sure? Let’s check (if you want to follow along while we sing, look it up). We’re looking at the Declaration of Independence here, so . . . sing if you know the words. Huh, wait. The only mention of “God” in the Declaration is here:

When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

So…not a manifesto. Huh.

In fact, if you’re really confused, read this: http://atheism.about.com/od/churchstatemyths/a/doi.htm

Here’s a shocker, the Declaration of Independence is not a manifesto for Christianity or Christian-based government? Yes, I know we swear on a bible when we go into court, and I, personally, have an issue with that. What if you don’t use the bible as your personal moral code-enforcer? Does that make your oath invalid? Can you instead as for a Torah? A sacred relic? A…I don’t know, what are the Islamic equivalents?

As I wrapped up this blog I saved it and ran to the store for a few things. There on the cover of the Star, that stellar example of journalistic evidence, was the glaring headline that the duly elected by the people (the electorate AND the majority popular vote) President of the United States is, in fact, not a US Citizen. Well golly. Wish I’d read that before doing this blog, would have saved me some time. After all, if it’s in the Star, it must be true, yes?

Tonight: Recovering.

3 Comments on “Long Time, No Blog…but Better Now”

  1. Tammy says:

    This sort of ignorance falls right in line with those who feel they have the right to decide for others who should and shouldn’t be allowed to marry.

    Those who use God as a fallback for their (questionable) actions are just as fallible and accountable as the rest of the population who don’t share their beliefs.

    That Star article? Sensationalist journalism at its best (or worst).

  2. Shannon says:

    Perhaps the most frustrating issue with the ignorance is that it unfortunately paints everyone who might share certain viewpoints as falling into that category. I don’t consider myself Democrat or Republican. My favorite quote is C.S. Lewis who writes:

    “I believe in political equality. But there are two opposite reasons for being a democrat. You may think all men so good that they deserve a share in the government of the commonwealth, and so wise that the commonwealth needs their advice. That is, in my opinion, the false, romantic doctrine of democracy. On the other hand, you may believe fallen man to be so wicked that not one of them can be trusted with any irresponsible power over his fellows.” – C.S. Lewis, Weight of Glory (p 168)

    (If that doesn’t give me away as a Christian, I don’t really know how else to paint it on my forehead). That said, I’m an odd sort I suppose. I view America as a secular nation that because of its roots does draw heavily from very Biblical principles. Therefore, when it comes to my own political opinion I think each person ought to vote their conscience – and Pol, I’m just as uncomfortable with people who don’t ascribe to Christianity swearing on a Bible. What good is it if the person doesn’t view it as a binding text?

    It also really irritates me that people perpetuate stupidity (like this Obama stuff – I also agree that who *cares* if he were Muslim (hey look subjunctive!)). We’re a freaking melting pot of cultures!).

  3. Donna Jo says:

    I wonder if the “honorable” Lindsey Graham could remember where he was on Yom Kippur. Or whether he even knows the date.

    It struck me funny that SG Kagan thought he was asking a legit question about the “Christmas bomber,” only to ask for clarification and learn he was being snide. Or worse. Good for her on her comeback.

    Um, and the religion is called Islam and adherents are called Muslims. It’s something I learned in my ironic area of expertise, religion and law. I happen to have six cases right now about alleged religious violations self-identified Muslims have filed against my client. I look forward to kicking ass on each and every one. But, Pol, you know that’s what I always look forward to.

    DJ