And So We Begin Anew…

One semester down, seven to go and the doctorate will be complete! Well, save for the comp exams and the dissertation, but hey! Details, I tell you! Details!

The semester begins tomorrow with a special session. It really began for me on Monday as I began writing lessons and prepping for my single, tiny class that I’m teaching. Thus brings a dilemma. Keep the tiny little class that goes from 12-1:20pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays, thereby killing all opportunities for a “regular” job, or ditch that golden opportunity in a private community college in hopes that I’ll land a more “regular” gig?

It’s insane that in a house where we have four able adults, 3.2 doctorates, two master’s degrees, three bachelor’s degrees and two associate’s degrees we’re still living paycheck-to-paycheck. We don’t go out, we don’t party, we don’t really even vacation anymore. Last week’s short hop to the Mouse in Orlando was covered by S’s conference speaker’s fee (and my designing of their fabulous people-drawing-in brochure), airfare included.

Where’s our economic stimulus? I’m surprised Al Gore and the Green Party have not come a-knockin’ on my door demanding that I stop sending out resumé’s ’cause I’m killing too may trees! Where’s our refinance plan for those of us “under water” after being hosed by the bank?

I’m frustrated, irritated, ridiculously in debt, and upset about it all.

And yet…Haiti. 45,000 100,000 potential dead? Sweet mother of mercy, those people. How do I help? What can I do? My “issues” pale in comparison.

Truly.

And Pat Robertson is an asshole of the highest order.

Tonight: still more unpacking and lesson writing. Oh, and finished that damned 20-year “life plan” for that dumb class. Here’s my plan: get a freakin’ job that even the crappiest economic downturn can’t kill!

