Of Ships, and Gingerbread, and Dreams; No Shoes, No Ceilingwax, and Definitely Not Cabbages and Kings

Well, take one slightly-at-loose-ends doctoral student, some free time, some gingerbread, and a ridiculously deep love of Stargate: SG-1, and you get this. I give you, the USS George Hammond, in gingerbread.

Just for fun I documented the process, so here we go…

First, I found one of the few images of the ship online.

Next, came the gridding process. I numbered the faces of the ship and then, as best as I could, drew them out in 2-D on graph paper.

Then came the gingerbread part. I rolled out the dough as thin as possible, then cut shapes and carefully laid them out on the sheets to bake. It got a bit confusing at times!

Early launch bays, drying after initial frame-in. I went through loads of icing! It was actually pretty good physical therapy for my still-healing hand.

The roughly put-together version.

Adding detail to the launch bays.

The nose of the ship with the two smaller launch bays. I’m assuming those are for the gate-ships, not the X-304’s.

The main body of the Hammond. I’m not a good enough icing piper to spell out the entire name, so I went with the initials. The red/white strips hint at the nifty ship patch they’ve used in the show.

L’ artiste at work!

The completed ship! Left oblique view.

Head-on view, as if flying by in an X-302.

Right oblique view.

A completed project!

Overall, the entire project took about 72 hours, if you add everything up. Lots of fun and very relaxing.  Now, onto other things.

Tonight: Dinner out and Avatar. Yay.

One Comment on “Of Ships, and Gingerbread, and Dreams; No Shoes, No Ceilingwax, and Definitely Not Cabbages and Kings”

  1. Cags says:

    Wow! Love it. I love the attention to detail s much. I never would have even given a thought as to what those little bays were for until you mentioned it. And now I’m sat here thinking that it’s actualyl a really cool design for a ship!

    Well done Pol.