Good On Ya, Meredith!

I’ve checked for an official Meredith website and was unable to find one so thought I’d leave a little note for her here. Will she read it? Most likely not.

I felt every jitter of nerves you were probably feeling, Meredith, during your announcement on the Today Show this morning. I know how hard it is to say those words out loud. I’m sure your palms were sweating and your knees shaking. I’ll bet you had second, third, and 1,000th thoughts right up until the camera turned to you. Internal and external debates aside, Meredith, you executed fantastically, with grace and style. I thought you were tremendously brave.

It is one thing to come out to yourself. Another to your children. And to your family. But to make an announcement like that to the world…that takes sheer guts (and a nearby bathroom).

Matt Lauer. Well, I was impressed. I can say with heartfelt gratitude that it was not Ann Curry doing the interview. I couldn’t have stomached the false intensity of the contrived ‘lean forward, rest your hand on the guest’s knee, gaze deeply into her eyes, lower your voice, and ask…”how does it feel?”‘ Nope. That would have sucked. Matt was great.

The interview, if you missed it, can be found on YouTube here.

For those who will read this and start the usual whinge of “nobody ever comes out with, ‘I’m straight'” news…suck it up. Nobody has to come out as straight, it’s an assumed norm, with anything else being perceived as the “other,” with the ‘other’ being connotatively construed as wrong. (If any of those words confused you, look them up.). As Meredith said in her interview, she was putting a personal face on the issue. This is a woman who represented a generation to many of us, and iconic ideal. If she can be a lesbian an loved, why can’t we all?

I went to a Hallowe’en party this year and met Alice’s Queen of Hearts. Fabulous costume designed and made by the wearer, also a wonderful (male) fourth grade teacher. You’re kidding yourself if you don’t think we’re teaching your kids in the grade and high schools/colleges/universities. Are we recruiting? Absolutely not. Are we everywhere? You bet your ass we are. Don’t like it? Tough. Live with it.

If you don’t like lesbians, don’t sleep with one. Same goes for gay men. If you don’t like gay marriage, don’t marry a gay person.

What you did today Meredith was well done, indeed. Thank you.

3 Comments on “Good On Ya, Meredith!”

  1. Shannon says:

    Hey Pol (Twilight506 from GW here). I read your post and just wanted to comment 🙂 *no whining here* LOL

    A friend of mine, who is transgendered, and I were talking about the issue of gay marriage (of which we ideologically stand on opposite sides, but we’re both of the mindset that there’s no reason to hurl insults at each other over it) and the fact that really, it’s because I see marriage as a religious institution rather than a government institution which is why I can agree with the concept of civil unions (some might say I’m splitting hairs, but it would take me at least ten pages to explain myself… so humor me LOL). Ultimately he suggested the government simply stop issuing marriage licenses completely and just do civil unions for *any* two people who wish to enter into one for legal purposes and simply leave it up to churches to perform marriages however each church sees fit.

    I mean, while you and I may stand on opposite sides of an issue, I certainly don’t want to dictate your life or what you do nor do I wish to cause any undue hardship or difficulty. Granted, while Chase (my friend)’s idea would never really happen because people can’t handle radical ideas in general, I like it because I feel like it would be a compromise. A way to live in peace and liberty… but I just wanted to dialogue with you because I love to talk to people who think differently from me. My friends are all over the map in beliefs and walks of life and I value that.

    I hope I haven’t offended you and I confess that I’m nervous in posting this (I’ve thought about it for a few days in fact). I respect you and your opinion and I hope that at the very least you can see that not all of us “conservative” Christians (I think I’m far more liberal than those that I share certain convictions with) are wild nutjobs seeking to beat everybody down. Our founding fathers sought to prevent religious persecution and so in my discussions I like to find the common ground where we can not only agree to disagree, but we can still think well of each other and also allow the other to live as they believe they ought.

    And let me offer the sincerest of apologies for the hatred and anger that so often comes out of the mouths of people claiming to be Christians. I may not be them, but it brings me great shame that they claim to share my convictions but lack any thought or compassion or love and fail to give even the most basic respect for another human being.

    Thanks for listening Pol and I hope your dissertation is going well – I really want more Campfires (ulterior motives….)

    • Pol says:

      Hey Shannon,

      I love that you posted and never fear, healthy debate is always a good thing. It comes down to this for me. You can have as lavish a ceremony as you like in whatever religious institution that rocks your boat, but you are NOT *legally* (ie, in a rights-issue sort of way) until you file a license with the State (capital “S”).

      I am not granted that right. I can have whatever religious ceremony I like, yada, yada, but cannot LEGALLY file with the State (ie, for my own rights) as can any hetero couple.

      Some can, I cannot. That is discrimination. Pure and simple.

      It’s a rights issue. Nothing more, nothing less. Worship whom you like, how you like, celebrate how you like, but I should be allowed the sam LEGAL rights as my neighbor. We pay the same taxes, live in the same community, but I am treated separately…and not equal.

      Thanks for weighing in on the issue.

      Pol

  2. Shannon says:

    I think what it comes down to is that the State has taken over marriage and bestowed certain benefits to it and so it creates this complicated matter for me. I think you should be able to have the same rights but the issue is that from my point of view marriage is not a State institution. Even if the State chose to give no benefits to to marriage and didn’t even issue licenses, my moral requirement to my husband (to have remained untouched til marriage, remain faithful during marriage, and the marriage dissolves at the moment of either his or my death) remain the same because it’s a religious institution. This is why I can support a civil union (and as I mentioned before, would be happy to remove marriage completely from the State’s hands for both hetero and homosexual couples) but not marriage. Because the State has adopted marriage it’s unfortunately lost it’s religious meaning to the general population (or at least become a hybrid institution of which I completely reject).

    I don’t expect us to agree at all – and the truth is I fully support your right to protest and pursue your convictions even if I disagree because I do believe in democracy. I *don’t* like that you are unable to do the same things or receive the benefits as my husband and I do. I fear I sound like I’m contradicting myself. I guess I just wanted to say “hey, here’s how I see it” and that while there are a number of people out there that hold this certain point of view because of hate, that it’s not true for all of us. It’s just a paradigm thing.

    Thanks for not beating me with anything :S (I once had a friend ask me my opinion and I simply stated my thoughts (as in yes or no) and she ranted at me for quite a while… so I try very hard to qualify everything I say and to be as thoughtful as I can in phrasing things – I know this is a deeply personal issue for you and I do not want to hurt you in any way – I know I don’t understand it from your POV and that it is easier for me to hold my position because I’m not emotionally invested in it. So thank you so much for letting me talk)